Hugoware

The product of a web developer with a little too much caffeine

Getting Started With Silverlight

with 4 comments

Today I got started using Silverlight for the first time today. Presently, Silverlight is on version 3 so I’m a little late to the party (but then again given the speed of the releases, I may not be that far back after all). I was leery of using Silverlight because I’ve always liked working with Flash, mostly because I really like taking a break from statically typed languages and playing with dynamic languages.

However, Silverlight is just filled with pure awesome so far. .NET Framework, available from a RIA? Sweet!

I dont’ have as much to say today as usual because I’m still working on this project — but I can say that I’m really excited because a project I’ve wanted to build forever now is actually available for the first time thanks to the features found in Silverlight.

Over the next few months I’ll share my progress on my creation and hopefully get some feedback about what people think — but as for now, I’m still just trying to figure out how to move some rectangles around. 🙂

Does anyone have any recommended resources for learning Silverlight? Especially creating games?

Written by hugoware

July 30, 2009 at 2:37 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am curious to see what you think Silverlight in comparison with jQuery in regards to animation, etc. Many of the developers who have worked for me have preferred either one or the other.

    ActiveEngine Sensei

    July 30, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    • I’ve messed with it a little – It doesn’t seem nearly as intuitive as jQuery (or at least from code). I did find a framework where someone had written some animations that chained together much the same way that jQuery does.

      I was messing around with a tile game so I hadn’t been doing many “animations” so far, but mostly just moving things around the screen.

      webdev_hb

      July 30, 2009 at 8:56 pm

  2. Depending on what kind of game you’re looking to build, you might consider looking at some Flash development resources. While the programming logic is obviously different, there are some aspects you can borrow in terms of thinking through gameplay, how to model physics and physics interactions, and such. It might help in reverse-engineering some gameplay interactions.

    Ed

    August 4, 2009 at 12:36 pm


Leave a Reply

